Taking a Break

I’m going to take a break from sewing for a while, which means I won’t be blogging either.

For the past week or so I have done pretty much nothing (at all, not just sewing) and last night I realised that the WIPs I have lying around are stopping me from doing much of anything.  I’m really not in the mood to sew, and haven’t been for a while, which is probably why I keep making TNTs and I’m not really very enthusiastic about those.  It’s taken me a while to realise that sewing has become a bit of a chore, rather than a pleasant hobby. Because I feel I should be sewing, I’m finding it difficult to do anything else – I almost feel guilty if I spend a few hours reading a book, or playing Assassin’s Creed II*, or even cleaning the cooker, because I should be sewing. Silly, but my mind works like that sometimes. I haven’t even watched most of the Craftsy courses I bought because, again, I should be sewing!

It’s possibly just a time of year thing – in February last year I posted about having too many clothes and it feels the same now. I end up just wearing the same few things over and over as they are all I can get to in my wardrobe because it’s so stuffed.  Half the clothes need ironing before I can wear them because they are so crushed, and sewing just keeps adding to the chaos.  At the moment whenever I wear something out of the wardrobe I then wash it but don’t put it back. I’m trying to see what clothes I really want to wear, and what just hangs there.

If I had a sewing room it would be easier to just fit in a little sewing here and there, but I have to do all my work in the living room, on the dining table, with the ironing board set up in the hallway. This means that I can’t do anything else on my dining table (including eating – it’s only a small table) so when the machines are out that pesky “should” keeps popping into my head.  I put everything away today and I already feel better about not sewing. I think my whole flat needs a spring clean, and it was impossible to get started with half of it littered with sewing stuff (I’ve typed the word “sewing” so often in this post that it now doesn’t look like a real word!).  I now need to find a new storage space for my machines because at the moment they are on a sideboard in the hallway and I just want them tucked out of the way for a while.

I’m sure it’s just a mojo thing and I’ll be back at it before you know. Just in case I’m wrong, though, I didn’t want anyone concerned about me if I disappear for a few months. Of course, being the contrary type, I could be back tomorrow because I suddenly get my mojo back at 6 a.m. and get my machines back out again :).

TTFN

(*Not a typo – I play games years out of date!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Taking a Break

  1. SewingElle says:

    Well done for being in control of your life. Sewing should be a pleasure! We’ll miss you. Enjoy your break

  2. ewellons says:

    Hope you get your mojo back. I think we’ve all been there before. And you are so right — sewing should be a pleasure! Perhaps if you get some of those WIP’s finished up, you’ll be ready to go again!

  3. Amanda says:

    Rest well and take some time out to rock it at Assassin’s Creed! We’ll see you when your mojo is back and sewing is super fun again! take care xx

  4. CherryPix says:

    I totally know what you mean about the clutter getting you down! Putting it all away is a great way to reenergise. Enjoy all the other fun things you can do!

  5. judy says:

    Hope you enjoy your break [for however long you need], and Appreciate your sweetness to let us know your fine.just taking a break..Because I would have worried about you,ha.
    I think we all go through that “needing a sewing break”.. And when it gets where it is not a fun
    hobby..its time for a break..
    Hope you enjoy your spring cleaning…and get recharged.. Have a great time.

  6. amaryllislog says:

    I completely understand the need for a break and I believe I might already be there myself. Stepping back is a good thing. The minute you start to feel guilty and put pressure on yourself, that’s a clear sign. Enjoy and we’ll see you a little later.

  7. Gjeometry says:

    Nothing wrong with taking a break, you are supposed to enjoy the activities in your life! But, I’ll miss you, sniff, sniff. Take your time, read a book (not about sewing) and enjoy. That’s what life is all about.

  8. T. Sedai says:

    Totally understand the need for a break! I was super excited about sewing, but I have taken on so many projects that although right now I “should” be sewing I am having way more fun doing not sewing. Take a break, see what happens. You will want to sew again when the mood strikes, but until then don’t push it. Mojo is a fussy thing. Let it rest and it will all work itself out in the end.

Leave a Comment