2013 – Sewing Clothes I Want to Wear

It has taken me a few years to realise that the clothes I want to make and the clothes I want to wear are often, but fortunately not always, two different things.

I’ve been looking at my wardrobe, seeing what clothes I actually wear and have come to the conclusion that “comfy” is the most important criterion. I’m now calling certain combinations of clothes “tracksuit outfits” – comfy as a tracksuit, but more stylish. If I can potter around the flat, cleaning (ha, ha!), playing with the cats, sewing, crawling around on the floor to cut out, etc, without fiddling with my clothes then it’s a good tracksuit outfit (a lot of my PJ sets fall into this category).  If I can then simply throw on a pair of boots and coat (sandals in the summer) then it’s a perfect tracksuit outfit (obviously PJs don’t count for this!).

This means I probably need to sew more jersey/knit garments. Not all of my tracksuit outfits are jersey – for example my 50s’ style dresses (including the cherry print) fall into this category because once I’ve been wearing them for a few minutes I just forget about them.

With the above in mind, I did go on one last fabric splurge last week and bought some more jersey/knits for my stash. I did see a couple of wovens that I liked, but I already have far too much in my stash already so I stuck with knits.

Two of them are for potential Tiramisu dresses.

(although I may change my mind about the second one).

The other two were bought just because I liked them and don’t have definite plans yet. The first one will be a top when I find the right pattern,

and the second probably a skirt.

I’ve also had a sort through my stash today and found that I have a total of 32 cuts of jersey/knit ranging from 1.5m to 4m. The majority were bought with plans in mind, but some of those plans may change now.  My plan for the rest of today is to go through my patterns and plan my next few projects.

We moved our PC back into the living room yesterday (it’s been out on the landing for a long time) and it’s now in a much nicer environment to sit at and type, so I’m hoping that means I will blog more often, especially if I sew more often.

I hope you’ve all had a great start to the New Year.  It’s the first working day of the year here in the UK (January 1st is always a holiday) and Mr RTS is currently at an interview for a job that sounds promising!  Even if he doesn’t get it, it’s a good start :).

This entry was posted in Sewing Plans and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2013 – Sewing Clothes I Want to Wear

  1. I so agree… I love the comfy items.. Gets lots more wear… Love your new fabrics.. Can’t wait to see what you make.. Happy sewing.

  2. ps Good luck to hubby on his new job interview.

  3. mrsmole says:

    Great that you could find fabrics you need right in your very own stash! I find the first of the year brings me to cut out lots of things I have been waiting a whole year to do.I hope your creative juices start flowing again and there is good news for your hubby.

  4. Every Stitch says:

    I’m totally with you about sewing what you actually wear. My 2013 goal is to sort out the fitting issues for a pair of jeans – cos that’s what I actually wear

  5. Love Mum says:

    So how did the interview go, and why didn’t you let me know? Also you’ve made me want to go and look at more fabrics as I feel there’s a lot of “staying-in-and-getting-on-with-sewing-weather” coming along. I’ll try and fight it as I don’t want to start filling up the house with fabrics. Think I’ll look for inspiration for those already languishing since last year.
    See you later

Leave a Comment

