Simplicity 2888

I’ve seen lots of bloggers sew cherry prints. Every time I’ve been to my local fabric shop I see lovely fabrics with a cherry print.  The only reason I haven’t bought the lovely cherries fabric is that it is a cherry print on a white fabric.  I live in the UK – we really don’t have much of a summer – and I would very, very rarely want to wear a white cherry print dress.  However a couple of weeks ago, whilst browsing in my local fabric shop, I spotted a cherry print on black fabric (apparently Mr RTS had noticed this fabric on more than one occasion but he didn’t think to point it out because I rarely buy dark print cotton – I’m not sure whether I should be annoyed that he didn’t point out the cherry print – or impressed that he knows I rarely buy dark print cotton – I’m going with the latter :)).

Anyway, I have a TNT dress pattern for a cotton print so I bought enough fabric and made a dress – the time between purchase of fabric and wearing the dress was six days. I really need more TNT patterns!

Simplicity 2888 in a cherry on black print:

I don’t think I’ve mentioned this pattern before, because my previous makes were pre-blog.  I’ve made it three times before for myself (one slightly too small muslin, one slightly too big muslin that I wear anyway, and one version I wear any time the weather is warm enough).  I’ve also made one for my Mum, that I hope she wears sometimes.

I did get some photos of me wearing this dress, out in the world.  Our city’s theatre had an open day this past weekend and I wore this dress.

Me and Mr RTS with a Tardis:

and with a Dalek (and yes, he did ask “What was I touching? when he saw the photo :):

With a prop harp:

In a fairytale coach:

My Mum (right) and Mother-in-Law (left) know the correct way to touch a dalek 🙂

The dress is supposed to have a self-coloured belt, but I have cut the piped belt from Simplicity 2174 and it’s just waiting to be sewn.  I cut the dress out last Tuesday, thinking I would get around to sewing it during the week, but ended up sewing it on Friday evening.  The belt had to wait… and is still waiting.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Finished Projects, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Simplicity 2888

  1. I love, love ,love your new cherry dress.. So pretty and looks so pretty on you.
    I am proud you have the dark background cherry fabric.>Just perfect. Happy sewing.
    ps I love tnt patterns too.. fun to have a quick sew dress that fits..

  2. dressesandme says:

    That’s a really pretty dress! I’m feeling inspired to sew a cherry print now!

  3. T. Sedai says:

    Oooh, I love this dress! Super cute and flattering. The print is just perfect.

  4. SewingElle says:

    gorgeous dress. And great fit! TNT is the way to go!

  5. Amanda says:

    This is gorgeous! I love the print, the lines of the dress and the fit! And two bonus points for the Tardis! 😀

  6. liza jane says:

    I’m not usually a fan of the cherry print, but I love this one on the black background! It’s a lovely dress. The fit looks great.

  7. Janice says:

    I don’t usually like cherry print, but I like the black version. Super cute!

  8. beverly says:

    Just found your blog; you’ve made some very pretty things. Love the cherry dress!

  9. So mad at me.. I bid on this pattern on ebay..Went grocery shopping and lost it.lol Maybe I’ll find it again.. Yours has inspired me.thanks.

  10. Hahaha this is awesome -also, love the dress. I thought at first it was stars then realised it was cherries.

Leave a Comment

