Taking my sewing to the next level

After posting about having too many clothes, I woke up this morning and realised that what I need to do is learn some new stuff.  I have a load of sewing books that I’ve been flicking through now and then and have picked up some tips, but I want to learn with a bit more structure.

I then remembered that I’ve read some good things about the Craftsy online courses, so I wandered over there to have a look.  I’d also read that people sometimes get offer emails from the site so I signed myself up with an account in the hope that I might get one of those offers at some point in the near future. With my first email, welcoming me to the site, I got an offer to sign up for any course for $25 – lovely – so I signed up for The Couture Dress after watching the 2 minute sample videos.  I now just need to wait for the pattern that’s included with the course to arrive.

But it gets even better. With my email confirming my purchase of the above course I got another $25 offer, so how could I resist signing up for Gertie’s Starlet Suit Jacket course.  I then get another $25 offer with the confirmation email for that course, so I’ve signed up for Gertie’s other course – The Bombshell Dress. So, for around £50 I get three sewing courses, plus a Vogue pattern, a downloadable Burda pattern and a Gertie original downloadable jacket and skirt pattern – bargainalicious!

I haven’t watched any of the videos all the way through yet, but even from just a little bit of skimming I know that I am going to learn loads and I’m really excited. I now need to start digging through my stash and work out what extras I need to buy.

I hope these courses are as good as they look – let me know if you’ve taken part in any of them and if they were any good.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Taking my sewing to the next level

  1. eumoronorio says:

    I love Susan’s class and I am so jealous that you got so many coupons! I can’t wait to see which fabrics you choose!

  2. amaryllislog says:

    I’m glad you signed up. This will motivate me to get serious with the courses I have signed up for!

  3. T. Sedai says:

    I haven’t taken any online courses – let us know how they go! Also, I think this is a great way to modify your challenge – focus on quality over quantity and make pieces you really want to wear.

  4. Amanda says:

    I have the Bombshell dress program waiting to go too… I can’t wait to see how you go with these!

Leave a Comment

