UFOs – I don’t understand

I can’t sleep, and whilst watching DVDs of Stargate SG-1 I’m also reading blog posts that pop up in google reader.

I can’t be the only sewist that doesn’t have any UFOs! This week’s The Sew Weekly Challenge is UFOs (unfinished objects AIUI). I’ve been sewing for about six years and have never had a UFO.  If I am sewing something then I am either happy about the idea of wearing it once it is finished, or I know that I’m never going to wear it so there is no point in finishing it.

UFOs just make no sense to me, unless they are very short term and just waiting for the right buttons or trim, etc.

As an example, the tunic I sewed could perhaps have become a UFO, but what’s the point?  I suppose I could have put it in a drawer somewhere (but in my small flat that would be difficult), but it was far easier to alter it so that I like it. I still may not wear it, but if I’d left the neckline as it was I know I would never wear it.

I am going to make a bet here – I bet that at least 90% of the Sew Weekly contributers who finished their UFOs because of this week’s challenge never wear their UFO garments again.

Maybe it’s because I live in a small flat with limited storage, but I will never understand UFOs.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to UFOs – I don’t understand

  1. T. Sedai says:

    I would say I pretty much have to agree with you, I don’t have a lot of extra space for unfinished projects to pile up. Although I technically do have one UFO. But mine is a costume piece so it isn’t something I would have been wearing a lot anyway. And it is something I want to revisit, but I think I need different fabric for the project and I don’t really have a place to wear it at the moment (the event I was making it for didn’t happen). Normally I work on only one project at a time (well, now I try to have one in the sewing stage and a second in the prep stage), but when my costume piece wasn’t working I stopped sewing for almost a month. That was the clue that it was time to move on to something else. Usually when projects aren’t going well I still push to finish them, and then either love them or hate them at the end, but with my one UFO I think the problem is that I still want to make it, but I didn’t like the way it was looking and I didn’t have a good way to fix it at the time. If a costumed event comes up in the near future I would go back to it and work to finish it, but for now I am content to let it sit and wait while I make garments that are more immediately useful.

  2. prttynpnk says:

    Me too. Its not that I don’t ever hate my work or go down the wrong path, I just don’t start more than 1 thing at a time and if I hate it, I regret the waste and finish vituperation and send it to goodwill. Guilt motivates me in all aspects of my life!

  3. Cathe says:

    I agree too. The only reason a project stalls out for me is from lack of time. I work on one project at a time and if I’m unhappy with the results I will revise it immediately, I just can’t let it sit. If its still not to my liking it’s moved out. The only thing I do in multiples is line up projects, so typically I’m thinking about three projects at a time. Some move forward and some don’t. I have never had a UFO.

  4. SewingElle says:

    I’m with you on the UFO’s. Normally I like to see a project through to completion, even if I subsequently donate it.The one UFO I have is a skirt that ended up too tight so I’m altering it. I’m not at all inspired, but the fabric was gifted to me so I feel obliged to not waste it. Otherwise I would have finished it and given it to some one with smaller thighs than me…

Leave a Comment

