Burda 2012 Challenge – February Plans

I haven’t touched anything sewing related (other than sorting out a few fabrics) since the end of January. I know that’s only six days but that’s a long time for me.  For some reason, I can’t get going with my February plans so I though I’d at least get them posted which may give me the kick in the behind that I need.

February is quite an easy month for my Burda Challenge.  I own the 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 issues of the magazine but I’ve already sewn from the 2009 issue (items 106 – my review of that one is here, and 107 – no review or photos but the Burda archive link is here).  From the 2010 issue I have sewn the 02-2010-104 skirt at least half a dozen times. This leaves three issues to sew from, but there is nothing in the current issue that really calls my name.  I really like a couple of the dresses but, if I’m honest, I’d never wear them and I don’t want to waste my time on items that’ll just hang in my wardrobe until I give them away.

So that just leaves me with 2008 and 2011.  From 2008 I plan to make this blouse.

The fabric I’ve chosen is a remnant left over from a previous project (made pre-blog and not photographed yet).  I think it’s a crepe-de-chine.

I’m not completely sure that the blouse is a style I will wear which is why I am using a remnant. I’m trying to use the challenge to step out of my clothing comfort zone a little.

For 2011 I have picked a dress, but will be making one very significant change.

The skirt for this dress is basically just two rectangles sewn at the side seams then gathered to the waist. On me I know this style would look like a sack of spuds tied in the middle (i.e. not remotely flattering) but another blogger (my apologies that I cannot remember who) has made a version of this dress replacing the gathered skirt with a half circle skirt.  This gave me an ah-ha moment and I realised that it might work if I used the 04-2007-104 skirt.

I have made this skirt in the past (again pre-blog) and really like it.

I will have to re-trace the skirt because the one I am wearing in the above photos is too big – hence the wide belt. The fabric I have picked is a cotton that is a little on the stiff side, but this skirt is cut on the bias so I’m hoping that will help it drape nicely.  I bought the fabric for another project that I’m never going to make (I seem to type that far too often).

This is another one of those fabrics I bought when I was still in the “ooohhh, pretty” phase of my sewing, rather than the “will I really wear that” phase I’ve moved to.

So, for February I just have to sew two garments for the challenge.  That should be easy, I hope!

If I’m really in the mood I might re-trace the 01-2012-122 trousers in a larger size and have another go at them.

I do have some other, non-Burda, plans for the month but I’ll put those in a separate post.

This entry was posted in Burda Challenge, Sewing Plans and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Burda 2012 Challenge – February Plans

  1. T. Sedai says:

    I love your pattern selections, and your fabric choices! I am really excited to see your dress with the modified skirt – the 2011 February issue was the first Burda magazine I ever bought (I actually found it in a store!), and I have been looking at that dress for quite some time, although I keep rejecting it because of the skirt. I can’t wait to see how yours turns out – should look great in your colorful print!

  2. prttynpnk says:

    Ok, how do you get out of the ‘ooh pretty’ phase??? I just bought 4 yards of a swimsuit lycra in a lovely Buddha print over the weekend- I need an intervention!
    I love your plans and can’t wait to saee more!

  3. Cathe says:

    This is so much fun to see what you are planning to make and your fabric choices. I especially love the sleeveless top, so lovely.

    Thank you sharing all this, it’s really great fun!

  4. SewingElle says:

    OOh I like your plans.I’ve always wanted to make that top, so now I can enjoy it through you!

Leave a Comment

