Meet Margot

So, yesterday morning this parcel arrived.

It was too heavy for me to get it up the stairs (I live in a first floor flat) so I had to just keep staring at it longingly all day until Mr RTS got home from work.

Once he got home I opened the box to reveal

Isn’t it beautiful.  Inside this lovely case was

She is just gorgeous. Her name is Margot (don’t know why, it just suits her).  I bought her on ebay on New Year’s Day after lots of deliberation. She is a Jones Family CS and even came with the original instruction booklet (which I only discovered by accident when I picked up the case in such a way that Mr RTS could see inside it – the booklet was held to the inside of the case with a metal clip).

I blame Melissa from Fehr Trade for this purchase.  She wrote this post a little while ago and said how much she loved using her vintage Singer for topstitching.  I’ve been looking at vintage machines on ebay for quite a while now, but haven’t bought one because I knew that chances are I wouldn’t get it out to sew with when I have two other perfectly good, modern machines to use.  I’d been looking at vintage electric machines and hadn’t really considered a hand-cranked one because, again, I didn’t think I’d use it.  Then along came Melissa and tempted me.  Both my modern machines are okay for topstitching, but not especially brilliant and this gave me an excuse to buy a pretty, pretty machine.

I don’t have a sewing room, and our flat is quite small so I have to be careful about bringing new things in, but Mr RTS was as keen as I was when he saw Margot on ebay (he likes beautifully engineered objects).

I had a good play with her yesterday and she sews very nicely.  I still need to play around with the tensions but I got her to sew some lovely rows of test stitches last night.  I was a bit worried about getting new needles for her, but luckily I found a website today that sells exactly the right ones.  I also picked up some extra bobbins on ebay, and some feet, although she did come with additional feet that I will have to work out how to use.

I will mainly use her for topstitching just because I can.  I also may sew the occasional garment on her because she is just so nice to use.  Mr RTS and I don’t do xmas presents so this is my xmas present to myself.

Now I have to decide whether or not to keep trawling ebay for a Singer Featherweight 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Meet Margot

  1. Amanda says:

    Oh. My. God.
    She is simply stunning! What an amazing creature to have. Congratulations!
    WIll you be showing some of her topstitching soon? Mayhaps a wee demo?

    • I am hoping to use her for the topstitching on the denim skirt I plan to make for the January part of my Burda challenge. I’ll try to remember to take photos of the stitching if it comes out as nicely as I think it will.

  2. melissa says:

    Omg she’s beautiful!! You made a wise choice there, so long as you make sure you actually use her now!! I always keep mine with the tension set for the thicker upholstery thread I use for top stitching so it’s all ready to go when I need it. Mine uses modern needles and the same feet as my other machines, so it’s just the bobbins that are different.

    Also, if you haven’t already, you must show your husband the bobbin winding – he’ll love it, it’s too cool!

    • My husband was actually the one to show me how to wind the bobbin. Margot has a shuttle bobbin which I’ve never seen before and he worked out how to wind it before I did (and before we found the instruction booklet).

  3. amaryllislog says:

    She’s a beauty, congratulations. Sounds like a perfect relationship! It makes me so happy to see older products given a new life. It’s just amazing how well built she is with the lovely gold adornment.

    • I really love the gold paintwork on her. I especially love that it has a worn patch just to the left front of the needle, exactly where it would wear out due to a hand being placed there to guide the fabric. She has definitely been used – I just wish it was possible to find previous owners. Sewing machines should come with records, like cars 🙂

  4. Debi says:

    SO BEAUTIFUL! Wow and her original carrying case…they sure don’t make them like that anymore!

    • Modern nylon zip-up cases don’t really compare to the beauty of the case of this machine – they’re on different planets! I actually squeed when I opened the packing and saw the beautiful case. If Margot hadn’t worked I would have still been happy with my purchase because both she and the case are so fabulous.

  5. Mum says:

    Well, I had no idea how lovely she would be. Both your grandmother and great-grandmother had the old hand and treadle machines but this one is on a different level. Can’t wait to see her, and it’s really good to know she still functions like a young’un
    Mum x x

Leave a Comment

