Burda 02-2010-104 – again

I do like to sew the same pattern multiple times.  I enjoy attempting new things, but it can be a bit frustrating and stressful at times, so it’s nice to have some TNT (tried and true) patterns to go to.  Burda 02-2010-104 is one I have sewn at least half a dozen times, and I know there will be more in my future.  It only takes about a metre of fabric and the same of lining (I line most of my skirts now, especially if I know I’m going to wear them with tights) and I can run one up in a few hours.

So this is my newest version

The top is Burda 12-2008-113, shown in this post, so this outfit is basically identical to the one shown in that post, just in different colours (I even have the same belt as in the previous post, in black).  The fabric for the skirt is the same corduroy as my dark pink skirt.  It is lovely to sew with, although it sheds lots and lots of teeny bits all over everything so I have to scare my cats by getting the hoover out as soon as I’ve finished sewing.

The lining inside this skirt is gorgeous.  Now I know that there are some sewists out there who have mentioned on their blogs, or in comments on other blogs that they have an serger but are scared to use it. This is why you need to learn:

This is the hem of my lining, sewn using the rolled hem settings on my serger. I sew the hem of every lining this way now because it’s so neat and surprisingly easy to do. I have the ubiquitous Brother 1034D serger so it’s not that this is something only a fancy, expensive machine will do.

I love this lining fabric. It was only 50p per metre more expensive than the bog-standard acetate lining and it is just fabulous to sew. It’s quite a bit heavier than standard lining so I don’t think I’d want to line a very full skirt with it, but for something like this it’s just perfect. If Fabric Land still have it in stock next time I go there I will definitely be buying more of it.

This is another garment where I used the walking foot as a guide for the hem. I was using the walking foot anyway because I’ve found it stops the layers of corduroy shifting, but I would have put it on just for the hem, even if I hadn’t been.  This time I used the right edge of the right toe of the foot as the guide:

And again I got a neat finish, just like with the brown jersey top.

If your machine came with different feet, but you don’t use them much, it’s well worth playing around with them to see how useful they can be, as guides, or for different fabrics.  I don’t even know what some of my feet are for without looking at the manual, but I just use them for whatever seems useful or efficient.

 

This entry was posted in Finished Projects, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Burda 02-2010-104 – again

  1. SewingElle says:

    That really is a lovely hem on your lining. I don’t want to think about a new overlocker though…there are already four machines in my fleet and I don’t need to add another overlocker, even if it would do lovely rolled hems!

    I like heavier weight linings in my winter skirts too.

  2. Cathe says:

    I have been thinking about a corduroy skirt, you have convinced me I really need to make one. I love your outfit, skirt and skirt, it looks so smart. Your construction is spot on, I love that, beautiful hem!

    I have a love/hate relationship with my serger, she can be stubborn but such a great tool when working correctly.

    Lovely lining too!

  3. Bri says:

    I always mean to use a pattern again to make something when I really like it but then I try something else instead! Rolled hems are fabulous, too bad my serger doesn’t do it!

  4. Pingback: Singer Sewing Machines | Burda 02-2010-104 – again | ReadyThreadSew

  5. judy says:

    Love this outfit.. Well made..

  6. ElleC says:

    I never would have thought of doing a rolled hem on lining. Brilliant!

Leave a Comment

