This is why I love sewing

I bought the tights in this photo last year but never got around to wearing them.  I wore them once earlier this year, but it was with a black skirt and black jumper and, as much as I like black, I hate wearing too much of it.

Now, before sewing I would have thought about buying a dark pink skirt to match the tights but would have either given up on the idea because I really dislike clothes shopping, or gone clothes shopping and settled for something that was perhaps the right colour but not really the right style/length/etc.

Now I can sew I was able to pick a style I already knew I liked, having made it before, and then all I had to do was find fabric.  I’ll admit that I didn’t expect to be quite so lucky as to find exactly the right colour the first time I went to my local fabric shop, but I was and this is the finished result, with the tights (more about the skirt here).  I’ve since bought a second pair of the tights (£6 from Tesco in case you’re interested) just in case I get a hole in this pair.

I really love being able to sew.

This entry was posted in Finished Projects and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This is why I love sewing

  1. SewingElle says:

    Absolutely agree. Sewing means you can make separates that match in with the rest of your wardrobes and in colours that suit you, not the current fashion palette. Love those tights too

  2. judy says:

    I so agree. Sewing is wonderful.Love your outfit.

Leave a Comment

