First of the Six Plans Finished

I managed to get myself going this morning and have traced, cut out and sewn the purple batik Burda 02-2010-104 skirt referenced here.

I decided to not take too much of a risk and traced the size 40 and it fits me pretty well, although it’s a smidge too big in the waist.  I am glad I didn’t go down to the size 38 though, as I think it would have ended up uncomfortably tight.

I have now discovered that there is nowhere in my flat where I can take photos of myself wearing garments I’ve made, unless my husband is home to take the pictures, so I’ve taken the pic of this skirt on Dolly (I know, I know, that is such an original name for a dressform!).

If you like the look of this skirt, but don’t get the Burda magazine, this pattern is one that is available to buy from the Burda website – this should link to the pattern (still working out this blogging lark).  It’s pretty easy to make, and is a great wardrobe staple. I’ve got a few more of these planned, although mainly in summer fabrics so I won’t sew them for a while, because it’s easy to sew and easy to wear.

I’m now deciding whether I want to make two skirts in one day.  I got this skirt cut out on Friday evening, but didn’t get around to sewing it over the weekend.  I think I’ll go and have a cup of tea and then decide if I want to do more sewing today.

This entry was posted in Finished Projects, Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

